Why Do Writers Suffer Writer’s Block?

There are countless reasons why a writer will get writer’s block. And for each person any type of writer’s block can manifest differently and be entirely subjective depending on what ‘type’ of person you are. By that I mean if you are naturally introverted or extroverted, stress over every little thing or have an easy going approach, are prone to freaking out or simply don’t care all that much. It’ll be different for everyone and everyone will react and approach it differently in turn.

Bear in mind this is my own personal insights and observations I am expressing through experience, research or both and while I would never pretend to be a great authority on a subject such as writers block or writing in general I am drawing on my own experiences, that of people I have known and spoken to as well as research through the black hole known as the internet.

As I have previously stated, I have had writer’s block on multiple occasions over the years, throughout school particularly. As an introverted person I won’t seek help or advice when I’m struggling to continue with a piece of writing, partly because I don’t like showing others my stories and fictions because I don’t want to be judged. Due to this when I am truly stuck I’ll deal with it by staring at a blinking curser, willing it to fill in the blanks for me. It never does.

I believe we get writer’s block because of some of these reasons:

  • A ‘lack’ of imagination.
  • Insufficient information or research.
  • No connection with what you are writing about.
  • Negative mindset.
  • The blank page.
  • Not completely grasping the genre you are writing in.

And the most common, from what I’ve seen and read, is simply;

  • Not knowing what to write next.

I will be exploring these seven reasons in my ‘Types of Writer’s Block and How to Overcome Them’ instalments, which I am currently drafting and will likely be up by the end of the week if not sooner.

Leave a Reply

