REVIEW: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl follows Cath, one half of a twin set as she begins the terrifying journey of her first download (2)year of university and her being more interested in finishing her Fanfic then handing in assignments for class.

As a self-confessed fangirl myself I couldn’t go past this book, the title, the cover, all of it yelled out for me to take it home.

In some ways this is your typical YA romantic, witty, and problem riddled love story, there’s the ‘plain’ girl, overshadowed by others who falls for a boy who couldn’t possibly like someone like her, who encounter all sorts of problems and ultimately prevail in the end. Now don’t get me wrong there is a reason why these kinds of books sell, because we, as an audience, love this concept and we want to relive it over and over again. At the same time, however, this novel isn’t so typical. The twin dynamic, outspoken roommate, manic father, absent mother and injection of amazing fanfiction set this book apart from the others.

It’s on another level.

Anything and everything that Rowell puts her hands on is magic and Fangirl is no exception. The characters are intensely dense and we really get inside Cath’s mind, which isn’t always such a great thing if I’m honest.

I would be lying if I said she didn’t get on my nerves throughout the book. Like most socially inept nerds she tends to over analyse everything and overact to the littlest things, like the nicest guy in the world wanting to carry her laundry basket, because we’re feminists and we can carry our own laundry.

The amazing thing about this book is the validation of fandom and fanfiction. I think Rowell is the first published, bestselling author to do something like this, to acknowledge and understand this virtual, not-for-profit world of ours.

I wasn’t sure whether I would connect with the interjection of the fanfic and novel excerpts. They made the book. I thought it was such a unique and ingenious idea and if I’m even more honest, I liked the fanfic excerpts more than the sections of the actual Simon books.

Fangirl is enchanting and there aren’t even any dragons.

Definitely a must read.

You can pick up your own copy of Fangirl over at The Book Depository.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

