Book Haul!

I promised myself that I wasn’t going to buy any more books for a while, but let’s be honest, that was a bit of an empty promise. Especially when K-mart sells them for such amazing prices!

over the past couple of weeks i picked up…

11007672_984930801536080_562891806_n

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

I Was Here by Gayle Forman

You Had Me At Hello by Mhairi McFarlane

Gay L.A. by Lillian Faderman and Stuart Timmons

download

I’m slowly acquiring a complete set of all of John Green books, it’s taking me a while but An Abundance of Katherines is the latest to grace the growing collection. I put off buying it the first few times I came across it, mainly because I wasn’t entirely captivated by the blurb. However when I found it for about half the normal price I decided I had to give it a chance. I honestly think that his series of covers for these books are incredibly attractive and one of my favourite cover designs.

200 (2)

I think, that one of the major reasons why Green’s books are so coveted and loved is not because of the writing or the stories or even the covers, it’s because of him, John Green. He’s kind of an incredible human being.

200 (1)

*

nrm_1414507197-gayle-forman-i-was-here-big

I’m a newbie when it comes to Gayle Forman books, If I Stay being my first introduction to her. I generally hate anything that had the sole purpose of making me curl into a ball and rock back and forth for several hours; I need that happy ending to be satisfied, or at least a hopeful ending. Occasionally however I find myself picking one of those exact books off the shelf and taking it home. If I’m going to end up a sobbing mess it might as well be from one of Forman’s Masterpieces.

200 (3)

*

15733851

You Had Me at Hello should be a stable in every girls bookshelf, and I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to pick it up. I mean the title is probably the most quoted clique EVER. Romances are something I never tire of, I can read the same concept six different ways and every time I’ll love it even more.

200 (5)

*

57580-gaylabook

Lately I FINALLY received Gay L.A after going through a hell of a time to find and buy it online, because I couldn’t get it at any of my local book stores either. I was desperate for this nonfiction book, probably the first nonfiction book I have ever bought. I’ve really gotten into LGBT culture lately, books and film and now nonfiction. The book itself is beautiful with historical images accented throughout. it’s incredibly educational, fascinating and a great way to learn a little bit about an entire subculture.

200 (6)Ct2Zy

Leave a Reply

