This Week i am Reading:

Gay L.A. By Lillian Faderman and Stuart Timmons57580-gaylabook

I was desperate to get my hands on this amazing non fiction book, it took a bit of work as well. I couldn’t find it available anywhere! I went from online store to online store and no one had it in stock for a non ridiculous price (hardcover). I was finally able to acquire it and waited impatiently for it to arrive in the post.

I’ve always been a fiction kind of girl, I never had time for non fiction, biographies or anything like that, it wasn’t for me. However I’m slowly changing my tune.

It’s all about the subject matter. Over the past few months I’ve been heavily getting into LGBT aspects of film and literature. Different movies and TV series (queer as folk and the L word) as well as fiction novels and short stories by authors such as David levithan, who I highly recommend.
From reading this book I am discovering so much interesting and slightly disturbing factual Information about an entire subculture during L.A.’s establishment and development as one of the most outspoken, liberal and flamboyant cities in America. I love it.

If you’re like me and find it difficult to really get into a factual non fiction book, you will be surprised by how easy it is to get lost in Gay L.A. It’s made me want to run out and find out more, read more books about LGBT history and this deemed subcultures lifestyle.

Leave a Reply

