REVIEW: The Reporter and the Girl (Minus the Superman) by S. C. Rhyne

Synopsis

Welcome to the rabbit hole…
I am the last person in New York City who would fall head over heels in love.
Independent. Self-possessed. Why would I want to f**k that up?
My online dating profile at bd-fet.com simply reads: “Just looking.”

So why am I obsessing about Jon Sudbury?
Jon, the reporter, is vanilla as a milkshake and has probably never tasted rice and beans on the same plate before we met.

At least that’s what I thought.
Why can’t people remain simple and predictable?
All I want is control, not to be sent hurtling at maximum speed into the unknown.

Nothing about our story makes sense.
The thing is, I can handle desire, lust, passion, even betrayal…

But love is another world altogether.

And this is not a love story.

First things first. This Book is for mature readers only who don’t mind a lot of sex and a little BDSM. I’m not sure that I would classify this as an ‘erotic novel’ however it does lean that way.

I love to read books from authors trying to make a career out of their writing and I have read many great reviews regarding this book and their perceptions of this book are extremely insightful, however this book just didn’t work as well for me. That’s not to say it was a bad book, it just wasn’t my cup of tea.

This books greatest achievement is its reflection of reality. I think Rhyne beautifully captured what the beginnings of a, somewhat dysfunctional and fetish-ie, relationship actually looks like in our everyday lives. It was this reflection of reality that gave this book depth and a kind of strength.

The writing itself was rather engaging and was one aspect of the book that kept me reading and major points for no grammatical or spelling errors…that I was aware of.

The protagonist didn’t seem like a strong character, and rather like she had no depth and seemed, at times, as if she couldn’t go on without the main love interest, Jon, however she does grow and this is something I really enjoyed. There is great growth within Sabrien as the story progressed and I did love to watch this growth of her character. It was rather satisfying.

The one plot device that really grew on me was the constant miscommunication, misunderstandings and misreading between Sabrien and Jon. I think it showed an honest truth about relationships, especially new relationships, and slowing becoming to really understand your partner and all the mistakes you make along the way.

As I said this book wasn’t really for me and I did have a few issues that stunted my reading of it.

Things seem to happen out of the blue a lot with no leading into it like the rather aggressive internal dialogue that, at time, seemed out of sync with what was actually taking place. The most in your face ‘out of the blue’ moment was the BDSM sex scene. There’s only one. Which is the major reason why it’s so out of place and why it feels like a chapter was chopped out of a completely different book and shoved into this section. At times even the romance didn’t feel real, THIS however lessens as the characters themselves grow and come to farmiliarise themselves with each other.

I’m a sucker for smut, however the majority of the erotic scenes weren’t that detailed or graphic. This is a good thing if you don’t like that kind of thing and a somewhat bad thing if you do like that sort of thing.

The overall voice of the book was strong and demanded a presence that I think is important for any book. While this kind of book isn’t of my tastes I think Rhyne has produced something to be proud of with the elements of truth and realism.

Connect with S. C. Rhyne: here

Leave a Reply

