Book Tag: How I Read

Thanks to Reg at She Latitude for tagging me to do this ‘How I Read’ book tag! This looks like so much fun and i’m super excited to get into it!

How do you find out about new books to read?

When I was a kid I found out about books from my mum and the school library. Now I see amazing photos on Instagram that makes me want to go out and buy the book. Goodreads is also helpful, especially if i’m looking, not for a specific book, but at a specific genre or sub-genre.

How did you get into reading?

My mum. Growing up she use to read me a chapter (multiple chapters if I got my way) before I went to sleep and it was always such an amazing time. It’s what I looked forward to when I was told “it’s bed time”. From that I quickly learnt to read by myself, past my bedtime, with a flashlight.

How have your tastes in books changed as you got older?

Yes and no. Obviously as I’ve gotten older my reading choices have become harder reads, more mature reads and I’ve come to love the Classics (They use to scare me) but at the same time I’ve always loved fantasy/supernatural/romance/dramas and still read all of those genres. There’s just more swearing, sex and drugs.

How often do you buy books?

…Too often. It depends on whether I can afford to buy books, whether there is a particular book I want and whether there is someone there to stop me. This last month, I’ve bout multiple books on four separate occasions.

How did you get into reviewing books?

I think it was Instagram initially. I had taken a year off before I began Uni and i had a lot of spare time on my hands. I found book accounts on Instagram that had links to their book blog and decided that i wanted to give it a go. I love books and I always have an opinion so it seemed like the perfect solution to my boredom! There was also the hope that one day, when i (hopefully) gain a large audience, that this could turn into some form of a profession, that i might be able to make it into something legitimate and permanent.

How do you react when you don’t like the end of a book?

Generally it goes like this: Shocked disbelief –> harrowing anger –> crushing disappointment. The book may end up across the room and I may post a scathing review of my opinions.

How often do you take a sneak peek at the ending to see if there is a happy ending?

…A lot. I have little to no will-power when it comes to the happy ending I feel i’m entitled too. I know! It’s so bad and breaks book etiquette but sometimes I can’t help myself. Sometimes I just NEED to know if they survive or end up together or that everyone is just okay. Sometimes I think yeah okay I just ruined the fabulous ending but other times it makes me want to read the book even more because I want to get to that end. I want to get to that HAPPY ENDING.

If anyone is interested in doing this tag please feel free to and comment with a link to yours so I can give it a little peruse!

10 thoughts on “Book Tag: How I Read

  1. I think I’m definitely going to do this tag at some point! I have quite a few posts to make before I can though, but I’ll let you know when I eventually do! 😂💖

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s one reason why I love tags; you’re not just writing about something because it’s in your head, you have to go back and think about your answers properly ☺️

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for doing the tag! So glad you found it fun. 🙂

    I’m not a big Instagram user and always found it surprising whenever people say they use it to discover books, haha. Do you follow any book-specific accounts? I never see books on my news feed, but the people I follow are more my friends than book bloggers. :p

    AND HIGH FIVE to having no will power with book endings! I’m terrible at that too and when I read people doing this tag they’re always so good, I feel so lonely. I do it exactly the reason you do it: I NEED to know if they survive, but for me it’s more about avoiding getting too attached to characters that might die…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha welcome!!
      The majority of the accounts I follow are book accounts!! There’s the tag ‘bookstagram’ that you can use to look at some great pictures of books or you can have a look at my account/those I follow, my username is just inkorkeys 😄 there are some really great accounts out there!!
      YAY IM NOT ALONE!! Hahaha I also do it for the attachment reason and also in the not getting too attached to a pairing that I’m loving desperately but that might not end up happening or surviving!

      Like

      1. I’ll look it up, thank you for the suggestion! 🙂

        Oh my god, you’ve articulated so perfectly why I spoil myself with endings–I was a huge ‘shipper’ in my earlier days and sometimes get really heartbroken when a couple I want to happen didn’t happen, so now I just avoid the heartbreak altogether. D:

        Like

      2. Haha I must say I’m still a shipper at heart for my most re-read books and I agree! When you start to really fall in love with a particular couple it can be so disappointing if the author decides to side swipe you with a different outcome! 😄

        Like

Leave a Reply

