ALAN.

alan-rickman

Alan Rickman

21/02/1946 – 14/01/2016

I’ve tried to write this little tribute several times. Nothing I put down seemed…enough in a way. I mean, who am I to write about the greatness of a man I’ve never met. Which I’m not going to do. I’m not going to prattle on about what he contributed to the world, but I am going to ramble on about what he contributed to me, in my life, for just one moment.

Severus Snape use to scare the crap out of me as a kid. First reading the books and then watching Alan Rickman portray him like no other could. He came to be so much more than just the evil potions professor, due to JK’s wonderful writing but also due to Rickman’s incredible skill and just how much he was Professor Snape. The films would never have been the same without him. It is amazing how one fictional character could influence you so strongly, but Snape did, Alan did.

When my mum told me he had passed away, I thought she was joking. It was late, I had just gotten home around 12:30am and she was half asleep in bed. I thought she was lying or sleep talking or…something other than telling me the truth. When I finally got it through my head that The Alan Rickman had died I just burst into tears, inconsolable.

He didn’t play roles. He became them.

I’ll miss his wonderful influence on my life, as i’m sure many others will as well.

 

 

Leave a Reply

