Book Review: The Fray Theory: Resonance by Nelou Keramati

Synopsis:

Neve Knightly lives in an ordinary world. Where déjà vu is nothing more than a mind-9595740_origtrick. Where premonitions are dismissed as mere coincidence. Where no one thinks twice about the glitches in their reality.
Neve Knightly is living a lie.
But when her nightmare of a tragedy comes true the very next day, she can no longer seek solace in self-deception. The glossy enamel has been shattered, and she has caught a glimpse of what slithers just beneath the surface.
She now has the opportunity to decipher the enigma that’s been haunting her since childhood. But her quest soon becomes deeply entangled with the last two people she could have ever imagined: the love of her life, Dylan, who mysteriously vanished three years ago, and his estranged best friend, Romer, who seems to be guarding a secret of his own.
Romance, rancor, and redemption plummet as priorities, as their lives become riddled with peculiar happenings lying just outside the realm of science. And in search for salvation, they emerge at the brink of unveiling the best-kept secret in human history.

Its been a while since I’ve posted a review, so let me gloss over a few details about how I review a book.

I’m not into retelling of a book during my reviews, that’s what the synopsis is for. Instead I prefer to dive straight into my thoughts about the story line, writing, pros and cons of strategies, what I like about the book and what I don’t like about the book.

My Review:

First things first. That. Cover. Can we all just take a very long moment to appreciate how utterly GORGEOUS it is!? It’s stunning, 10 points to Gryffindor!

I found this book to be an extremely enjoyable read, and utterly captivating from the start. There was a lot I liked, a little I loved and a tad I disliked overall with this book.

One of my first thoughts when I started this book was that I wished desperately that I could have work shopped this with the author. I found that there was a lot of unnecessary content and detail that didn’t really add anything to the book, or further the plot in any way, that could have been chopped out (in my opinion).
My other first thought was that I loved the introduction to our heroin. It was suspenseful, intriguing and made me desperate to try and figure out what the heck was going on! In the best way possible.

The initial action instantly had me hooked, I needed to know how it would all end and it had me itching to find out what the mystery of our heroin was. I did feel that after this initial jolt of action, there was a significant lag before another gripping action scene.

The central premise was completely enthralling and unique, I haven’t read anything quite like it before, a world of interconnected multiple dimensions and ‘proxy’ selves. In saying that, I can’t say that I was able to completely suspend my disbelief when it came to this premise. I thought that there was a lack of depth to this proxy concept and that it perhaps needed to be steeped in more specific detail, or just something to ground the concept that propels all the action. A slightly more fleshed out plotting of this universe.

The character development for all three of our main characters was flawless and I loved watching the actions and interactions play out.
The suspense and intrigue elements were skillfully dotted throughout the book and it really was these moments that kept me reading.

The one thing that was almost a deal breaker for me was the amount of time changes and flashbacks. There was simply too many to make the book a cohesive read. I kept having to re-read sections to figure out where I was and in whose past memory I was. There was a disconnect I wish wasn’t there.

Overall I did enjoy delving into Keramati’s world and would definitely continue this journey of the Fray Theory.

Leave a Reply

